Languages in the shower: Wetspeak

This morning an idea came to me, to do with learning vocab.

While shampooing, I was wondering what the German word for scalp was. 

Then: wouldn´t it be useful to think of a few other relevant words each time I was in the shower?

The idea which came to me was to do with this whole business of foreign words having a gender.  German nouns can be masculine, feminine or neuter, so why not learn one of each, each time?  Der Skalp, masculine (which I have just looked up and found was not too challenging), could be associated with die Kopfhaut.  This is a feminine word for scalp made up of Kopf (head) and Haut (skin).  To complete my trio I am adding the neuter  das Haar (the hair).

By linking the three words in a way that makes some sort of sense, I stand more chance of remembering them.  Daily revision will make sure that those words are firmly entrenched and before long I will know all sorts of sophisticated words like spleen, calf and Achilles heel.

Fun, relevance, repetition: all the necessary ingredients for successful progress and clean, shiny hair as a bonus.  Let´s speak wetspeak!

About Fun with languages

Blogging about learning languages, making it fun Hobbies: paragliding, cycling, reading, BBC radio 4.
This entry was posted in German, Quick Tips and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

